Page 2 of 3

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:34 pm
by Corvo
Dunkelbrink wrote:No Mica - a maximum if one piercing blow per attack. This has been clarified by Cubicle 7. And the troll is weary at zero end - this rule is added in the revised edition.
Can you point me that clarification?

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:48 pm
by Hermes Serpent
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1924&p=17054&hilit= ... ow+#p17054
Andrew confirmed the ruling in that post.

Funnily enough it was in another thread about Snow Trolls :-)

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:54 pm
by Corvo
Interesting, yet this contradicts what is written in the Revised Edition page 168

The following table details the effects triggered by a successful called shot: these effects are applied in addition to the normal consequences of a successful attack (loss of Endurance, Piercing blow, etc.)

Bolding and underscore mine

Edit: it was the same in First Edition. Sorry if it looks like I'm necroing an old discussion :?

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:56 pm
by mica
Page 178
The following table details the effects triggered by a successful called shot: these effects are applied in addition to the normal consequences of a successful attack (loss of Endurance, Piercing blow, etc).

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 2:59 pm
by Dunkelbrink
Yeah I was just going to point out Andrews answer in that thread. It doesn't really contradict the rules since you can't get à double pierce effect - the blow is either piercing or not. But it wasn't too clear and that was why they had to clarify it.

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:08 pm
by Corvo
Yeah. Probably using "disregard" instead of "regardless" could have spared some doubts, but these are the benefits of hindsight.

Anyway, I have already said to my players that they can have a double wounding blow, so for this campaign it's so :D

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:15 pm
by Glorelendil
Depending on how many skill points you have in bow, you might want to consider using Prepared Shot instead of Called Shot. You only get to attack every other turn, but could have a higher chance of succeeding.

But...even weary that Snow Troll will have a very good chance of beating Injury of a bow.

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:17 pm
by Hermes Serpent
The wording of the discarding the effect of the Feat die bit is what prevents the second Wounding blow.

Technically English speakers should have understood the grammatical construction of that sentence :-)

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:24 pm
by mica
And I did, until I read in addition and specifically 'piercing blow' and thought hang on, am I missing something... it allows for piercing blow and disarming in the same strike, maybe they do mean double chance of a wound.

Anyway, glad that is cleared up - I can cut short angling from munchkin players

Re: Snow Trolls and Combat Option

Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:38 pm
by Corvo
Hermes Serpent wrote:The wording of the discarding the effect of the Feat die bit is what prevents the second Wounding blow.

Technically English speakers should have understood the grammatical construction of that sentence :-)
I understand what you are saying, yet, as a not native speaker, I can point the two meanings indicated by the Merriam-Webster online:

without taking into account <accepts all regardless of age>; also : in spite of <regardless of our mistakes>

The first definition discards the feat dice, to use your definition.
Not the second one, that describes an effect that apply regardless of the result of the feat dice.
Hence the doubt. "Don't roll the feat dice" would have been ugly but clearer :D