I imagine this has been answered before but I can't find it and given that people are so helpful on here . . .
If a player had a TN of 16, rolls to hit and gets a gandalf rune and two 1's - he automatically hits because of the Gandalf rune but does he get to turn it into a penetrating hit?
I initially ruled he didn't but I then changed my decision as players argued that the rune is equivalent to a 10 as well.
What should I have done?
Regards
Lorimez.
"They have a cave troll!"
Gandalf dice roll
Gandalf dice roll
"They have a cave-troll!" - Moria expansion anyone? 

-
- Posts: 242
- Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:18 am
- Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Re: Gandalf dice roll
If you look at the weapons you'll see that every weapon results in a penetrating hit if you roll a Gandalf rune, so it was correct to handle it as a penetrating hit. Remember that the weapons with an Edge of 10 or 9 causes a penetrating hit on 10 OR Gandalf (or 9,10, OR Gandalf. In other words, A Gandalf rune is both an automatic hit and a penetrating blow.
Re: Gandalf dice roll
This is exactly correct. Also, note that Keen turns a Gandalf for the weapon's Edge into a 10 (in other words, one step down).Dunkelbrink wrote:If you look at the weapons you'll see that every weapon results in a penetrating hit if you roll a Gandalf rune, so it was correct to handle it as a penetrating hit. Remember that the weapons with an Edge of 10 or 9 causes a penetrating hit on 10 OR Gandalf (or 9,10, OR Gandalf. In other words, A Gandalf rune is both an automatic hit and a penetrating blow.
I can understand the confusion or temptation to think that this makes it too powerful, but it's a 1 in 12 chance and the enemy still gets to make an Armour Test to save.
Jacob Rodgers, occasional nitwit.
This space intentionally blank.
This space intentionally blank.
Re: Gandalf dice roll
I can understand the confusion or temptation to think that this makes it too powerful, but it's a 1 in 12 chance and the enemy still gets to make an Armour Test to save.
And the enemy benefits from the same (reverse) mechanics, so it is not a bonus for the PCs.
And the enemy benefits from the same (reverse) mechanics, so it is not a bonus for the PCs.
Vae victis!
Re: Gandalf dice roll
Thank you all kindly.
Lorimez
"They have a cave troll!"
Lorimez
"They have a cave troll!"
"They have a cave-troll!" - Moria expansion anyone? 

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests