When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Adventure in the world of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. Learn more at our website: http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/the-one-ring/
Post Reply
Falenthal
Posts: 2273
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Girona (Spain)
Contact:

When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Post by Falenthal » Thu May 07, 2015 11:36 am

I've been looking at the Palantir and found no clear answer to this. It has overshadowed some discussions about Attercops and Great Leaps, but not talked about clearly.

It may be me, but I don't know if a hero in Rearward stance has to declare an engagement at the beginning of a round or if he can choose his target when his turn arrives. Of couse, the second option would lead to the Rearward archer being able to choose the most damaged foe (or whoever he sees fit) after all his companions have attacked.

This are the quotes from the Revised Core that make me doubt (p.174):
Engagement
When every player has determined the stance his hero
will fight in, all combatants must engage one or more
opponents.
From here I'd say that also archers must declare whom are they going to attack this round.

But...
A character is engaged when paired in close combat
with at least one opponent.
More Enemies than Heroes
When the opposition outnumbers the company, the
Loremaster first assigns an opponent of his choice to every
companion in a close combat stance (heroes in Rearward
cannot be engaged
).
More Heroes Than Enemies
(or sides equally matched)

...each player chooses an adversary for his
hero in a close combat stance...
When all heroes in a Forward, Open or Defensive stance
have been paired with one opponent...
From the extended combat example, I'd say that the archers can choose their target just when it's their turn to act:
Finally, Trotter acts. He is unengaged and free to attack
at leisure
. He chooses to try and finish off the Attercop
that Lifstan hit with a serious blow, hoping to get rid of it
once and for all.
And the same happens with the enemies:
As his final action for the round, the Loremaster chooses
what the unengaged Attercop will do.
Would you agree that archers are free to fire at will, after seeing what damage their melee companions have brought on the adversaries?
Even Prepare Shot doesn't need a target declared beforehand.

mirkwoodfalcon
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2014 5:52 pm

Re: When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Post by mirkwoodfalcon » Thu May 07, 2015 12:54 pm

We have always played that Rearward companions choose their target when they attack, following the extended example. I've always taken the Engagement rules to be strictly for the NPCs, but perhaps we've been doing it wrong.
“...his old life lay behind in the mists, dark adventure lay in front...”

Falenthal
Posts: 2273
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Girona (Spain)
Contact:

Re: When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Post by Falenthal » Thu May 07, 2015 1:39 pm

mirkwoodfalcon wrote:I've always taken the Engagement rules to be strictly for the NPCs, but perhaps we've been doing it wrong.
What do you mean? How do you play it?
What the rules say is that either the LM chooses who attacks who, or the players, depending on the number on either side. But in every combat someone has to decide who engages whom.

Majestic
Posts: 1806
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 5:47 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Post by Majestic » Thu May 07, 2015 9:49 pm

I was kind of surprised when I read over those sections again, but you seem to be right, Falenthal; it doesn't really specify or make it that clear.

I've always let archers choose just before they act. Of course that often leads to the "I attack the one that's already injured!" phenomena, but that does make the most sense.
Tale of Years for a second, lower-level group (in the same campaign).

jamesrbrown
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 5:15 am
Location: Gilbert, AZ, USA
Contact:

Re: When does Rearward stance declare its target?

Post by jamesrbrown » Thu May 07, 2015 10:35 pm

I believe the correct interpretation is that Rearward companions are NOT engaged and may take their turn following all Close combat stances and they can choose whatever target is available, including enemies that are NOT engaged.
Please visit my blog, Advancement Points: The One Ring Files, for my TOR Resources

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests