Page 1 of 1

Hound of Mirkwood: Protect

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 7:41 am
by jamesrbrown
Tonight, we had a fantastic session playing Kinstrife & Dark Tidings from Tales from Wilderland. A question did come up, however, involving a Hound of Mirkwood.

If a Hound of Mirkwood has been trained to protect, allowing the player-hero to withdraw from close combat and enter a rearward stance at the beginning of a round, the Shadow creature is now disengaged, right? Even though the hound is acting like a player-hero in a close combat stance, it cannot be attacked. So, when the Shadow creature's turn comes, he can choose to engage a player-hero already engaged, or he can target someone with a ranged attack. The dog simply allows its master to be in rearward.

Does this sound correct to everyone?

Re: Hound of Mirkwood: Protect

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:05 am
by Angelalex242
Nope. Rearward heroes can only be attacked by monsters with great leap or fell speed. Normal melee monsters can never attack rearward heroes, whether protected by doggies or protected by other heroes.

That's why it's such a big deal if the dog goes down if the bad guys roll an eye...

Re: Hound of Mirkwood: Protect

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:13 am
by Hermes Serpent
Rearward heroes can be shot at with missile weapons even from the 'middle' of melee if not engaged. So if the dog is standing there growling at the adversary then the enemy can fire away to his hearts content at anyone even the hero in rearward or his little dog too. He can also melee someone else in accordance with the rules on allocating enemies to heroes.

Re: Hound of Mirkwood: Protect

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:17 am
by Rich H
jamesrbrown wrote:Does this sound correct to everyone?
Yep, that's correct James.