More than one hero in the same journey role?

Adventure in the world of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. Learn more at our website: http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/the-one-ring/
Post Reply
Elroval
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:06 pm

More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Elroval » Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:22 pm

Hi everyone, I've recently started running Tales from Wilderland as a PbF over on RPGGeek, and I have a question about journey roles, which I thought I'd ask here.

It says in the rules that more than one hero can be assigned to a journey role (with the exception of Guide).
I'm interested to know how people resolve hazards in this case. If you have two lookouts for example, and it's the lookout who needs to resolve the hazard on a failed Fatigue test, then do both lookouts roll? Or do you pick one? If its both, then it's twice as likely a hazard will be triggered, which seems unrealistic. If it's only one, then why have two lookouts in the first place?

Perhaps I've missed something, but it doesn't seem clear when reading through the rules about this.

Is anyone able to shed some light on this?

Thanks in Advance. :)

Falenthal
Posts: 2272
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Girona (Spain)
Contact:

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Falenthal » Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:54 pm

Elroval wrote:If its both, then it's twice as likely a hazard will be triggered
That's the part where you got it wrong. ;)

When companions roll for Fatigue (and it is then when they can trigger a Hazard by rolling an Eye), they do so without taking into account their role in the Journey. You just count how many Eyes were rolled during the Fatigue tests.

Afterwards, you roll for every Hazard to see what role it affects (p160 of the Revised Book). If it affects a role where two (or more) companions are, both can roll to avoid the Hazard and only one needs to succeed.

Elroval
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:06 pm

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Elroval » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:11 pm

Ah, yes of course, that makes sense.

Thanks Falenthal, for clearing that up. Much appreciated. :)

Glorelendil
Posts: 5160
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Glorelendil » Tue Jan 13, 2015 3:54 pm

The rules used to be that whoever rolled the Eye got the Hazard. Now when a Hazard is triggered you make another roll to figure out which travel role it is. So the Scout might roll the Eye, and the Huntsman gets the Hazard.
The Munchkin Formerly Known as Elfcrusher
Journey Computer | Combat Simulator | Bestiary | Weapon Calculator

Rich H
Posts: 4153
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 8:19 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Rich H » Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:03 pm

Glorelendil wrote:So the Scout might roll the Eye, and the Huntsman gets the Hazard.
Life's a bitch in Middle Earth.
TOR resources thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=62
TOR miniatures thread: viewtopic.php?t=885

Fellowship of the Free Tale of Years: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8318

Glorelendil
Posts: 5160
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Glorelendil » Tue Jan 13, 2015 5:10 pm

Rich H wrote:
Glorelendil wrote:So the Scout might roll the Eye, and the Huntsman gets the Hazard.
Life's a bitch in Middle Earth.
...and then you sail West.
The Munchkin Formerly Known as Elfcrusher
Journey Computer | Combat Simulator | Bestiary | Weapon Calculator

Stormcrow
Posts: 1352
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 2:56 pm
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Contact:

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Stormcrow » Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:01 pm

Glorelendil wrote:The rules used to be that whoever rolled the Eye got the Hazard.
No, you rolled on a table to determine which role was responsible for the hazard. The new rules now also specify the type of roll that person needs to make to deal with the hazard.

Glorelendil
Posts: 5160
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Glorelendil » Tue Jan 13, 2015 6:34 pm

Stormcrow wrote:
Glorelendil wrote:The rules used to be that whoever rolled the Eye got the Hazard.
No, you rolled on a table to determine which role was responsible for the hazard. The new rules now also specify the type of roll that person needs to make to deal with the hazard.
Well look at that. You are correct. In the first games I played the LM always had the guy who rolled the Eye take the Hazard, so I assumed that was the rule and it was changed in the revised rules. But I just looked it up and that was not RAW.
The Munchkin Formerly Known as Elfcrusher
Journey Computer | Combat Simulator | Bestiary | Weapon Calculator

Terisonen
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 9:39 pm
Location: Near Paris

Re: More than one hero in the same journey role?

Post by Terisonen » Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:21 pm

I'm a bit of a maniacal GM, but I find the idea of the hazard not falling on the members who as not rolled it more fun. It's adding embarrassement :twisted:
Nothing of Worth.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests